Xipeng Shen receives Early Career Research Award

Xipeng Shen (Ph.D. '06) was among 68 researchers selected to receive the prestigious Department of Energy Office of Science Fiscal Year 2011 Early Career Research Award. Awardees were selected from a pool of about 1,150 university- and national laboratory-based applicants, based on peer review by outside scientific experts.

Ferraro '11 awarded 2nd fellowship

Frank Ferraro '11 has been awarded the National Defense Science and Engineering Graduate Fellowship.

Undergrad Sam White wins ACM Student Research Competition @ ASSETS

Sam White '12 was announced as the winner of the ACM Student Research Competition (Undergraduate Division) at ASSETS, a SIGACCESS research conference on computers and accessibility.  Sam's research is entitled "AudioWiz: Nearly Real-time Audio Transcriptions." For more information about the the student research competition, please visit

Michael (Ph.D '97) receives IBM Award

Maged Michael (Ph.D. '97) has received an IBM 2010 Outstanding Achievement Award in appreciation for Scientific Innovations in Lock-Free Memory Management.

ROC HCI makes impressive showing at UIST

The highly selective User Interface Software and Technology conference (UIST) announced their awards on 10/5/10.  The paper on VizWiz submitted by our HCI group, led by faculty member Jeff Bigham, won best paper overall.  Co-authors of this paper included Sam White '12 and Robin Miller '12 as well as Hanjie Ji (ECE graduate student). For more information about the paper, go to:

Marty Guenther wins HSEAS Outstanding Staff Award

Undergraduate Coordinator Marty Guenther won the Hajim School 2010 Outstanding Staff Award for the dedicated advising and organizational work that has made her the heart of our undergraduate program.  She received the award at the Hajim School of Engineering Annual Fall Reception, Thursday 9/2 at Oak Hill Country Club.

Spear (PhD '09) wins Outstanding Dissertation Award for engineering.

Michael Spear (PhD '09) has been selected as co-winner of this year's Outstanding Dissertation Award for Engineering. Mike's dissertation entitled "Fast Software Transactions," was advised by Michael Scott.  Mike is currently an assistant professor at Lehigh University in Bethlehem, PA.

Vallino (Ph.D. '98) wins Oustanding Teaching Award at RIT

Dr James Vallino has been selected as co-winner this year of the Eisenhart Award for Outstanding Teaching at Rochester Institute of Technology.  The award will be presented at RIT's annual Celebration of Teaching and Scholarship, an evening reception and dinner, Tuesday, May 11th.   Jim has been teaching and challenging students at RIT since 1997.

Rubinoff wins AWC scholarship

Adina Rubinoff '11 recently was awarded the Upstate NY Association for Women in Computer scholarship.  The prize of $1K was awarded at the annual AWC awards breakfast, held 4/29/10 at the Hyatt Regency in Rochester.  Attending the event with Adina was Robin Miller '11, Rachel Niemer (UR Learning Assistance Services), and undergraduate liaison Marty Guenther.

Ipek's paper on Dynamically Replicated Memory wins Best Paper Award at ALPLOS '10

The paper entitled "Dynamically Replicated Memory:  Building Resilient Systems from Unreliable Nanoscale Memories," by E. Ipek, J. Condit, E. Nightingale, D. Burger and T. Moscibroda, tied for the top honors at ASPLOS '10:  International Conference on Architecture Support for Programming Languages and Operating Systems.

Syndicate content