Schedule for CSC 191/291, Spring 2018 (Tentative)

The following is my current guess as to the class schedule this spring (following last year's pattern).
However, the syllabus may evolve in this rather new area. -LKS

Class Sessions Topic Reading Assignments





Thurs. Jan. 18 Introduction, overview,
meaning of consciousness; 
explanatory gap; neural
correlates;   robot pain?
self-awareness;
Always take notes
as you read!


Always read ahead
for the next class!





Tues. Jan. 23 Explanatory gap; neural
correlates;
• Blackmore '05, 1-2





Thurs. Jan. 25 Illusions, theories
of consciousness,
the self
• Blackmore '05, 3-5;
homework 1, due
Wed. Feb. 7, 5pm
(Lisp1: Mon Feb 12)





Tues. Jan. 30 Free will, altered states,
Evolution
• Blackmore '05, 6-8;





Thurs. Feb. 1 Conscious & unconscious
processing;   the theater
of consciousness
• Baars '97, 1-2;





Tues. Feb. 6 Vision & imagery;
attention;   contextual/
conceptual priming;
volition
• Baars '97, 3-5 HW 1 due tomorrow,
5pm





Thurs. Feb. 8 the self (or selves);
role of consciousness;
it's no illusion;
facets of the evidence
• Baars '97, 6-App. quiz 1





Tues. Feb. 13 Role of affect in
organisms & robots;
functional architecture
of emotions;
• Fellous & Arbib '05, 7
  (Ortony et al.);
• Fellous & Arbib '05, 5
  (Rolls))
homework 2, due
Fri. Feb. 23, 5pm





Thurs. Feb. 15 Fear circuits,
amygdala, emotions,
& consciousness
• Fellous & Arbib '05, 4
  (Fellous & Ledoux);





Tues. Feb. 20 Genuine emotions,
emotion processing,
robot emotion;
affect & architecture
• Fellous & Arbib '05, 2
  (Adolphs);
• Fellous & Arbib '05, 8
  (Sloman)





Thurs. Feb. 22 Behavior-based robots;
models of motivation
• Fellous & Arbib '05, 9
  (Arkin);
• Fellous & Arbib '05, 10
  (Breazeal & Brooks);
HW 2 due tomorrow,
5pm





Tues. Feb. 27 "Heated" emotions,
language evolution,
(dis)passionate robots
• Fellous & Arbib '05, 12 
  (Arbib)
homework 3, due
Fri. Mar. 9, 5pm.
Lisp2 due tomorrow





Thurs. Mar. 1 Mind & body (again) • McDermott '02, pref-1 





Tues. Mar. 6 AI state-of-the-art • McDermott '02, 2; quiz 2





Thurs. Mar. 8 Self-modelling,
computation, & qualia;
• McDermott '02, 3-4; HW 3 due tomorrow,
Mar. 9, 5pm





Mar. 10-18 SPRING BREAK (no classes)





Tues. Mar. 20 Symbol processing,
neural nets, & meaning;
• McDermott '02, 5 Lisp3 due tomorrow





Thurs. Mar. 22 Morality,
souls, and religion;
• McDermott '02, 6





Tues. Mar. 27 (catching up -
schedule lag!)
• McDermott '02 homework 4, due
Wed. Apr. 11, 5pm





Thurs. Mar. 29 (catching up -
schedule lag!)
• McDermott '02 Proj. teams and
proposals





Tues. Apr. 3 Knowledge represent-
ation & reasoning
• Handout quiz 3





Thurs. Apr. 5 A basic agent;
Making computers
self-aware
• Vere & Bickmore '90;
• (maybe) McCarthy '95





Tues. Apr. 10 self-motivated
agent
Liu & Schubert '12 HW 4 due
tomorrow, 5pm





Thurs. Apr. 12 Minsky on emotion,
programs, common sense
• Minsky '01,
• Minsky '06, ch. 0-1
homework 5, due
Fri. Apr. 27, 5pm.





Tues. Apr. 17 Minky's Emotion Machine • Minsky '06, ch. 2 quiz 4;





Thurs. Apr. 19 Minky's Emotion Machine • Minsky '06, ch. 3





Tues. Apr. 24 Minky's Emotion Machine • Minsky '06, ch. 4





Thurs. Apr. 26 project presentations HW 5 & proj. reports
due tomorrow, 5pm





Tues. May. 1 Quiz (Minsky, projects)






Last Change: 15 January 2018 / Len Schubert