Schedule for CSC 191/291, Spring 2018 (Tentative)

The following is my current guess as to the class schedule this spring (following last year's pattern).
However, the syllabus may evolve in this rather new area. -LKS

Class Sessions Topic Reading Assignments





Thurs. Jan. 18 Introduction, overview,
meaning of consciousness; 
explanatory gap; neural
correlates;   robot pain?
self-awareness;
Always take notes
as you read!


Always read ahead
for the next class!





Tues. Jan. 23 Explanatory gap; neural
correlates;
• Blackmore '05, ch.1-2





Thurs. Jan. 25 Time, space, and
illusions
• Blackmore '05, ch.3-4; homework 1, due
Wed. Feb. 7, 5pm
(Lisp1: Mon Feb 12)





Tues. Jan. 30 Self-conceptions • Blackmore '05, ch.5;





Thurs. Feb. 1 Free will; altered
states
• Blackmore '05, ch.6-7





Tues. Feb. 6 Evolution of
consciousness
• Blackmore '05, ch.8 HW 1 due tomorrow,
5pm





Thurs. Feb. 8 Conscious & unconscious
processing;   the theater
of consciousness
• Baars '97, Pref., ch.1;
quiz 1





Tues. Feb. 13 The theater
of consciousness
• Baars '97, ch.2;
homework 2, due
Fri. Feb. 23, 5pm





Thurs. Feb. 15 Vision & imagery;
attention;   contextual/
conceptual priming
• Baars '97, 3-4





Tues. Feb. 20 the self (or selves);
role of consciousness;
it's no illusion;
facets of the evidence
• Baars '97, ch.5-App.





Thurs. Feb. 22 Role of affect in
organisms & robots;
functional architecture
of emotions;
• Fellous & Arbib '05, ch.7
  (Ortony et al.)
HW 2 due tomorrow,
5pm





Tues. Feb. 27 Role of affect in
organisms & robots;
functional architecture
of emotions;
• Fellous & Arbib '05, ch.5
  (Rolls)
homework 3, due
Fri. Mar. 9, 5pm.
Lisp2 due tomorrow





Thurs. Mar. 1 Fear circuits,
amygdala, emotions,
& consciousness
• Fellous & Arbib '05, ch.4
  (Fellous & Ledoux);





Tues. Mar. 6 Behavior-based robots;
models of motivation
• Fellous & Arbib '05, ch.9
  (Arkin)
quiz 2





Thurs. Mar. 8 Behavior-based robots;
models of motivation
• Fellous & Arbib '05, ch.10
  (Breazeal & Brooks);
HW 3 due tomorrow,
Mar. 9, 5pm





Mar. 10-18 SPRING BREAK (no classes)





Tues. Mar. 20 "Heated" emotions,
language evolution,
(dis)passionate robots
• Fellous & Arbib '05, ch.12 
  (Arbib)
Lisp3 due tomorrow





Thurs. Mar. 22 Mind & body (again) • McDermott '02, Pref, ch.1 





Tues. Mar. 27 AI techniques • McDermott '02, ch.2 homework 4, due
Wed. Apr. 11, 5pm





Thurs. Mar. 29 AI techniques, cont'd • McDermott '02, ch.2 Proj. teams and
proposals





Tues. Apr. 3 Self-modelling,
computation, & qualia;
• McDermott '02, ch.3; quiz 3





Thurs. Apr. 5 Defending
McDermott's model;
• McDermott '02, 4;





Tues. Apr. 10 Morality,
souls, and religion;
• McDermott '02, 6





Thurs. Apr. 12 Knowledge represent-
ation & reasoning
• Handout homework 5, due
Fri. Apr. 27, 5pm.





Tues. Apr. 17 Knowledge represent-
ation & reasoning (cont'd)
• Handout





Thurs. Apr. 19 A basic agent • Vere & Bickmore '90 quiz 4





Tues. Apr. 24 self-motivated agent Liu & Schubert '12





Thurs. Apr. 26 project presentations HW 5 & proj. reports
due tomorrow, 5pm





Tues. May. 1 Quiz (Self-aware agents,
projects)






Last Change: 16 April 2018 / Len Schubert